An adieu to Kartavya.


The unique model of rolling responsibility of Kartavya is always to be appreciated but it is also associated with twinge of adieu to Team Kartavya – children and volunteers. Started as a bad teacher of English subject (I didn’t have the art of teaching) and subsequently moved to higher responsibility. The guidance from seniors, coordination of colleagues and help from juniors were always commendable to make me learn many things from Team Kartavya. In last five year I have observed drastic expansion and development in Kartavya both horizontally and vertically. The kudos goes to the team and I am proud to be a small part of this great team which had engaged their precious time of academic life for this Noble cause. Not everyone is able to do this. Kartavya is not only uplifting slums, empowering children and their parents but also producing social leaders, a bunch of people who feel social responsibility to their society more than what other youth of our age group do feels.

After five years serving in Kartavya I also believe myself as one those many social leaders and this wouldn’t had been possible being away from it. My perception of life, success, career, happiness and motive is radically modified in these five years. Looking back to what I was 5 years ago and what I am now; the comparison is significant. Sustaining extreme pressure, heavy workload, coordinating and motivating a team, writing and communication skill, event management, organizational skill are few of the learning which I earned from experience with Kartavya. The confidence I developed while working in a dedicated team of around 100 volunteers give me a faith to manage any organization effectively and efficiently whether it be in social field or industry.

In quantitative comparison between what I gained from Kartavya and what I served to Kartavya there exists a high imbalance favoring the former one. Working in a highly dynamic, motivated and dedicated selfless team is no where possible.

My days in ISM is about to end and along with this comes an end to volunteering in Kartavya as student. However, Kartavya is now a part of life and it can’t be disassociated whatever be the circumstances. It is the verity that as student I can’t serve in Kartavya but as a citizen I always have right to serve my society and community whether it be through Kartavya or other way. Kartavya has shown me a path to divinity through selfless service and I would always be dedicated to it. It may be that in future the emotional attachment with this marvelous team makes my return and I would be glad to do so.

For now, I pass on all my best wishes to its future generation volunteers for integral and sustainable success of Kartavya and will always feel proud to work in this splendid team. Heartily thanks to each and everyone who were with me in this noble journey. May this journey return soon!

With heavy heart and moist eye,

Shivam.

April 13, 2013

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Kartavya, My Life. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. urvashi upadhyay

    Kartavaya will indeed miss you sir. You have always inspired us with your calm and composed disposition and dedicated work for the social cause up until the very end of your college life. We will try our best for integral and sustainable success of Kartavaya.

Leave a Reply

